Economics Department

Economists are central players in setting government policy — from social programs to economic development. In the private sector, they contribute to market research for new products, evaluate the impact of mergers, and assess tax policy. If you’re interested in human resources, the environment, international development, international financial markets, or money and banking, you might consider a major in Economics.

For course overrides, see the secretary in SB302.

Learn more about majoring in Economics or Honours Economics (BComm or BA)

Learn more about the Master of Applied Economics

Department Chair
Mark Raymond, PhD

Department Secretary
Bernadine M. Halliday

T 902-420-5671
F 902-420-5129
Sobey Building SB302
Economics@smu.ca
bernadine.halliday@smu.ca

Economics Faculty

Ather Akbari

Economics
Professor
Chair, Atlantic Research Group on Economics of Immigration, Aging and Diversity
902-420-5670
ather.akbari@smu.ca
SMU CV


Sal AmirKhalkhali

Economics
Professor
902-420-5672
sal.amirkhalkhali@smu.ca
SMU CV


Pyare Arya

Economics
Professor
902-420-5679
pyare.arya@smu.ca
SMU CV


Yigit Aydede

Economics
Associate Professor
902-420-5673
yigit.aydede@smu.ca
SMU CV


Atul Dar

Economics
Professor
902-420-5674
atul.dar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Maryam Dilmaghani

Economics
Associate Professor
902-491-8651
maryam.dilmaghani@smu.ca
SMU CV


Martha MacDonald

Economics
Professor
902-420-5678
martha.macdonald@smu.ca
SMU CV


Joniada Milla

Economics
Assistant Professor
902-420-5616
joniada.milla@smu.ca
SMU CV

Website


Sonja Novkovic

Economics
Professor
902-420-5607
s.novkovic@smu.ca
SMU CV


Mark Raymond

Economics
Assistant Professor
902-420-5675
mark.raymond@smu.ca
SMU CV


Marie-Claire Robitaille-Blanchet

Economics
902 420-5677
MarieClaire.Robitaille@smu.ca
SMU CV


Bidyut Talukdar

Economics
Associate Professor
902-496-8164
bidyut.talukdar@smu.ca
SMU CV


Andy Harvey

Economics
Professor Emeritus
Andrew.Harvey@smu.ca


There is a Sobey Economics Society for students. For more information about student societies, check with the Saint Mary’s University Students Association.