Students and Alumni

We accepted our first students in the late spring of 2000, and our first graduate was Dr. Elizabeth S. Kelley in May, 2005.

At any given time, there are generally 25-35 active students in the program. Our student body is about 60:40 women to men; about one third of our students come from outside Nova Scotia, and about ten per cent from outside Canada, with countries of origin including Germany, Georgia, South Africa, and the U.S.A. The average age is around thirty-eight.

Some of our students have followed a traditional higher education route, but many have extensive professional experience, including small business ownership, consulting, military experience, political and governmental leadership, and college/university teaching. Entering students typically have Master's degrees from any of a range of subject areas, including Adult Education, Behavior in Organizations, Business Administration, Industrial Psychology, Industrial Relations, International Development Studies, Psychology, and other related areas.

Student Cohorts by Year of Entry




Ian Kamp
Blake Kanewischer
Aisha Leon
Mark MacIsaac




Soheil Ahmadi
Abdimutaleb Boshanna
Karyne Gelinas




Liela Jamjoom
Corey Sigvaldason
Kristin Williams
Tianyuan (Cathy) Yu


Rene Arseneault
Nicholous Deal
Mary Beth Doucette
Olakunle Fakiyesi
Ellen Shaffner


Pham My Hanh
Kerry Hendricks
Mike Melenchuk
Tasha Richard


Kristene Coller
Rhonda Dever
Ken Hudson
Ryan MacNeil
Corinne McNally
Dr. Danielle Mercer

Caterina Bettin
Kothai Kumanan
Nicole Morris
Shelley Price
Wes Sallenback

Dr. Cara Lynn Scheuer
Annika Voltan
Nina Winham

Randy Delorey
Dr. Kim Myrick
Karen K. Stone
Dr. Heidi Weigand

Dr. Larry Corrigan
Dr. Cathy Fitzgerald
Merle Fuller
Birgit Pfeiffer
Ikiene Sentime
Dr. Shannon Webb

Dr. Jason Foster
Dr. Isabella Krysa
John McNamara
Rob Murray
Dr. Mariana Paludi
Michelle Thomason
Trung Le Kien

Dr. Shelagh Campbell
Dr. Trish McLaren
Dr. William Murray
Rhonda Pyper
Dr. Adam Rostis

Dr. Salvador Barragan
Dr. Arlene Haddon
Angela Hope
Dr. Doreen MacAulay
Dr. Donna Parsons

Dr. Marcelle Allen
Dr. Chris Hartt
David Iremadze
Dr. Susan Myrden
Dr. Kathy Sanderson 

Dr. Ellen Rudderham-Gaudet
Dr. Jim Grant
Dr. Margaret McKee
Dr. Amy Thurlow
Dr. Peggy Wallace
Dr.Connie Bygrave
Dr. Wendy Carroll
Alan Fraser
Kerriann Henneberry
Clare Keating
Jason Lecoure
Dr. Bally Thun
Dr. Amy Warren

Dr. Janet Bell Crawford
Dr. Gabie Durepos
Dr. Brad Long
Dr. Elizabeth McLeod
Kakha Shengelia
Dr. Anthony R. Yue

Dr. Ramon Baltazar
Dov Bercovici
Jules Fauteau
Dr. Gina Grandy
Dr. Elizabeth Kelley
Caroline O'Connell

Dr. Angela Bissonnette
Dr. Manon LeBlanc
Dr. Leroy Lowe
Greg Marshall
Dr. Jane Mullen
Dr. Mary Runte

Dr. Kelly Dye
Dr. Scott MacMillan
Dr. Natalie Vladi
Dr. Terrance Weatherbee

As part of the professional development aspect of the program, students in the Sobey Ph.D. are actively encouraged to develop and submit articles to academic conferences and peer-reviewed publication. Conferences that students have presented at include:

Upon completion of the program, our doctoral students typically have an impressive collection of work already published or presented under their name.