Athletics & Recreation

1964 Football Huskies


Inducted in 1999
Category: Team

The 1964 Saint Mary's Varsity Football Team ended a 47 game winning streak by the Saint Francis Xavier X-men en route to wins in seven of their eight regular season games. The season was crowned by a 15-1 Atlantic Bowl victory over McMaster Marauders, one of the top teams in the country. Unfortunately the national championship was not contested in 1964, so the Huskies missed the opportunity to compete for the national title.

Under Head Coach Bob Hayes, assisted by Jim Bayer and Les Goodwin and the team's faculty advisor, Father J.J. Hennessey, S.J., the team had one of the best defenses in the country, with four All- Conference, and two All Canadians, linebackers Bob Ruotolo and Don Murphy. The Team's offense produced six All-Conference and two All Canadian selections, Frank Archambault and Paul Puma, as well as the AFC Rookie of the Year, Ted Purnell. Rounding out the team were Mike Antle, Steve Armitage, Bill Baldwin, Bob Belliveau, Darryl Burgess, "Knucker" Burns, Mike Colle, Ken Evans, Frank Garner, Pete Grant, Tom Haney, Bob Johnston, Al Keith, Wayne Leahy, Jack Lyons, Dr. Charlie MacDonald, Stu MacDonald, Jim Magee, Larry Matheson, Brian Murphy, Dave Murphy, John Murphy, Stu O'Brien, Wayne O'Brien, Erwin Penner, Joe Reardon, Gerry Redmond, Ed Ritchie, John Schneider, Dan Skaling, Ron Traenkle, Ron Venning, and Charlie White.

In recognition of their many regional and national achievements, their consistent play throughout the season, and in giving Saint Mary's its first Atlantic Bowl win, the 1964 Varsity Football Team is inducted in the Team category.

Portrait Artist: Barb Dorey
Portrait Art Photographer: Joe Chrvala

← Previous Inductee  ||  Next Inductee →

↑ Return to Inductees