Studio for Teaching and Learning

Awards & Grants

The Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching has established an educational leadership award and a grants program for faculty colleagues:

  • The Dr. Geraldine Thomas Educational Leadership Award. This award is supported by the Saint Mary’s University Faculty Union (SMUFU).
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Awards support projects that demonstrate scholarly research in teaching and learning practices among full and part-time faculty and librarians.
  • The Alumni Association established the Father William A Stewart S.J. Medal for Excellence in Teaching. This Award is jointly sponsored by the Association and SMUFU.
  • The Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) sponsors regional awards for Distinguished Teaching and for Educational Leadership.
  • The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) sponsors the national 3M Teaching Fellowship Awards.

A number of outstanding professors at Saint Mary’s have received AAU Awards and 3M National Teaching Fellowships.

The Studio offers support to Saint Mary’s faculty in the preparation of nominations for awards external to the university.