Criminology

 Full-Time Faculty

(Click on the links, where available, to see individual faculty web pages for more details)

  • Ashley Carver, (on sabbatical leave from September 1, 2019 to August 31, 2020) Ph.D., Assistant Professor, University of Melbourne: Terrorism, counter-terrorism, genocide, policing and law enforcement.  Tel: (902) 420-5874; email: ashley.carver@smu.ca
  • Rachael Collins, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, University of Saskatchewan, Violence, serial homicide, mass murder, quantitative analysis, meta-analysis. Tel: (902) 491-6475; email: r.collins@smu.ca 
  • Diane Crocker, Ph.D., Professor, York University: Violence against women; criminal harassment/stalking; judicial decision making; restorative justice; qualitative and quantitative research methods; feminist criminology; and law and society. Tel: (902) 420-5875; e-mail: diane.crocker@smu.ca 
  • Maria Gómez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, New School for Social Research. criminological & political theory, prejudice & hate crimes, gender & cultural studies, critical legal theory. Tel: (902) 420-5149; email: maria.gomez@smu.ca 
  • Jay Healey, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Simon Fraser University, sexual violence, sexual sadism, atypical sexual behavior, nonsexual homicide, and quantitative research methodologies. Tel: (902) 420-5531; email: jay.healey@smu.ca 
  • Vanessa Iafolla, Ph.D., Assistant professor, University of Toronto. Tel: (902) 420-5889; email: vanessa.iafolla@smu.ca 
  • Jamie Livingston, (on sabbatical leave from September 1, 2019 to August 31, 2020) Ph.D., Associate Professor, Simon Fraser University, Mental illness and criminal justice; stigma; compulsory treatment; forensic mental health; risk and recovery. Tel: (902) 491-6258; email: jamie.livingston@smu.ca 
  • Stephen Schneider, Ph.D., Associate Professor, University of British Columbia: Organized crime, crime prevention, developmental criminology, policing and law enforcement; community development. Tel: (902) 420-5872 ; email: stephen.schneider@smu.ca  

Adjunct Faculty

  • Dr. Verona Singer, Ph.D., Dalhousie University: Intimate partner violence, sexual violence, victim services

Part-Time Instructors

  • Ryan Grigg, M.A., Carleton University
  • Lynn Gunn, Ph.D., University of New Brunswick
  • Marlee Jordan, M.A., Saint Mary’s University
  • Robert Kennedy, LL.B., Dalhousie University
  • Morgan Manzer, LL.B., University of New Brunswick
  • Aileen McGinty, M.A., LL.B., University of Glasgow
  • Russell Prime, M.A., Carleton University; LL.B., University of New Brunswick

 

In Memoriam

  • Dr. John McMullan, Ph.D., Professor (1985-2014)
  • Dr. Kevin Bonnycastle, Ph.D., Associate Professor (2004-2011)