Department of Chemistry

Chemistry Faculty Members

Chair 

Jason Masuda 
Inorganic Chemistry
Professor
902-420-5077
jason.masuda@smu.ca
Website


Professors

Christa Brosseau
Analytical Chemistry; Interfacial Electrochemistry; Surface Vibrational Spectroscopy;
Canada Research Chair-Tier II (Sustainable Chemistry & Materials)
Professor
902-496-8175
christa.brosseau@smu.ca
www.brosseaulab.com/


Jason Clyburne
Green Chemistry
Professor
902-420-5827
jason.clyburne@smu.ca


Robert Singer
Organic Chemistry; New Methodologies in Synthesis
Professor
902-496-8189
robert.singer@smu.ca


Associate Professors

Marc Lamoureux 
Analytical Chemistry; Environmental Analysis
Associate Professor
902-420-5652
marc.lamoureux@smu.ca


Cory Pye 
Theoretical Chemistry; Ab Initio and DFT; Hydration
Associate Professor
902-420-5654
cory.pye@smu.ca


Kathy Singfield 
Physical Chemistry; Polymer Gelation and Crystallization
Associate Professor
902-420-5663
kathy.singfield@smu.ca


Clarissa Sit 
Organic Chemistry; Biochemistry
Associate Professor
902-420-5655
clarissa.sit@smu.ca
clarissasit.com


Kai Ylijoki
Organic Chemistry
Associate Professor
902-491-6527
Kai.Ylijoki@smu.ca
kaiylijoki.wixsite.com


Assistant Professor

Danielle Tokarz
Physical/Analytical Chemistry
Assistant Professor
902-491-6573
danielle.tokarz@smu.ca


Professors Emeritus

John Young 
Professor Emeritus
902-420-5657
john.young@smu.ca


Lecturer

Mary Sheppard
Lecturer
902-491-6470
mary.sheppard1@smu.ca


Part-Time Faculty

Richard Cisek
Alyssa Doue
Laural Fisher

Ivan Hemeon
Bitu Hurisso
Nancy Kilcup


Adjunct Professors

Donald S. Gamble 
Chemistry
Adjunct Professor
902-667-1974
dgamble@ns.sympatico.ca


Chérif Matta
Chemistry
Adjunct Professor
902-457-6142
Cherif.Matta@msvu.ca


Adam Piorko
Chemistry
Adjunct Professor
902-420-5655
Adam.Piorko@smu.ca


Ian Pottie
Chemistry
Adjunct Professor
902-457-6245
Ian.Pottie@msvu.ca


Technicians 

Alyssa Doue
Darlene Goucher
Patricia Granados
Elizabeth McLeod
Luke Murphy


Secretary

MaryJane MacNeil 
Chemistry Secretary
902-420-5660
maryjane.macneil@smu.ca