Department of Astronomy & Physics

Faculty and Staff

(photo courtesy Danielle Boudreau)

Full-Time Faculty
Part-Time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Postdocs
Staff
Grad Students
Full-Time Faculty
Name Position Web Site/Email
Roby Austin Associate Professor Contact
David Clarke Professor Contact 
Ivana Damjanov Tier II Canada Research Chair, Assistant Professor Ivana.Damjanov (at) smu.ca
Robert Deupree Professor Emeritus Contact
Luigi Gallo Professor, Undergraduate & Graduate Program Coordinator Contact
David Guenther Professor Emeritus Contact
Rituparna Kanungo Professor Contact
George Mitchell Professor Emeritus Contact
Adam Sarty Dean of Graduate Studies and Research; Associate Vice-President Research adam.sarty(at) smu.ca
Marcin Sawicki Tier I Canada Research Chair, Professor Contact
Ian Short Department Chair, Professor Contact
Rob Thacker Professor, ICA Acting Director Contact
David Turner Professor Emeritus Contact
Gary Welch Professor Emeritus Contact
Aldona Wiacek Assistant Professor; cross-appointment with  Environmental Science (ENVS) Contact

 

Part-Time Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Jodi Asbell-Clarke Part-time Instructor jodi_asbell-clarke@terc.edu
Phil Bennett Part-time instructor pbennett
Kevin Brown Part-time Instructor kbrown
Richard Cisek Part-time Instructor Richard.cisek(at)smu.ca
John Gallant Part-time Instructor jgoahl@gmail.com
Patrick Kelly Part-time Instructor patrick.kelly@dal.ca
Shahideh Kiehbadroudinezhad Part-time Instructor shahideh.kiehbadroudinezhad (at) smu.ca 
Doug Pitcairn Part-time Instructor douglas.pitcairn@smu.ca
Cameron Reed Part-time Instructor creed
Laura Stiles-Clarke Part-time Instructor lsclarke
Adjunct Faculty
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Friedhelm Ames Adjunct Professor ames@triumf.ca
Phil Bennett Adjunct Professor pbennett
Scott C. Chapman Adjunct Professor scott.chapman@dal.ca

 

Postdocs and Research Associates
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Soumya Bagchi Post Doctorial Fellow S.Bagchi@gsi.de
Matthias Holl Post Doctorial Fellow mholl@triumf.ca
Thibaud Moutard Post Doctorial Fellow tmoutard
Shruti Tripathi Post Doctorial Fellow Shruti.Tripathi at smu.ca
Staff
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Florence Woolaver Secretary - Astronomy/Physics fwoolaver
Dave Lane Director, Burke-Gaffney Observatory and Systems Administrator, Astronomy & Physics Contact
Michael Dunlavy Science Technician - Physics mdunlavy
Dr. Sergiy Khan ACENET Computational Research Consultant sergiy.khan at ace-net.ca
Phil Romkey ACENET Systems Administrator phil.romkey at ace-net.ca
Graduate Students
Email*All email addresses, except where noted, end with "@ap.smu.ca"
Name Position Contact
Mathieu Cavenaile Applied Science Program mathieu.cavenaile(at)smu.ca
Lingjian (Lejay) Chen M.Sc. candidate lchen
Daniel Cunningham   M.Sc. candidate dcunningham
Hannah Ehler M.Sc. candidate hehler
Tiffany Fields M.Sc. candidate tfields
Angelo George M.Sc. candidate angelo.george(at)smu.ca
Adam Gonzalez Ph.D. candidate agonzalez
Preetinder Kaur Jassal Ph.D. candidate pjassal
Paresh Mungara M.Sc. candidate paresh.mungara(at)smu.ca
Mukhwinder Singh Applied Science Program mukhwinder.singh(at)smu.ca
Pranav Subramaniyam Applied Science Program pranav.subramaniyam(at)smu.ca
Orry Workman Applied Science Program oworkman

 

(photo courtesy Danielle Boudreau)

                  Astronomy & Applied Science graduate students 2018:

                  Back row: D. Cunningham, A. Gonzalez, M. Cavenaile, M. Singh

                  Front row: T. Fields, H. Ehler, P. Mungara, A. George, L. Chen

                  Missing: P. Jassal, P. Subramaniyam & O. Workman