About Saint Mary's

New and Renewed Canada Research Chairs at Saint Mary’s

10 February, 2016

Three Saint Mary’s University faculty members have been named or renewed as 2016 Canada Research Chairs, the Government of Canada announced this week.

Dr. Karly Kehoe Dr. Karly Kehoe (right) was named the new Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Communities.

“Being the CRC in Atlantic Canada Communities is really important to me - academically and personally,” said Dr. Kehoe. “A big part of my identity as a scholar is the work that I do beyond the walls of the university and this CRC is enabling me to continue with this mission.”

A Cape Breton native, Dr. Kehoe’s work focuses on work on religion, migration and identity in the British Atlantic and on sustainable development in rural communities. She is also a Saint Mary alumna, having completed her undergraduate in 1999.

Dr. Najah AttigDr. Najah Attig (right), Canada Research Chair in Finance and Dr. Kevin Kelloway (below right), Canada Research Chair in Occupational Health Psychology both had their status as Canada Research Chairs renewed.

Dr. Attig has been a Canada Research Chair since 2011 and Dr. Kelloway since 2008. In total, Saint Mary’s has eight Canada Research Chairs, with representation from all three faculties.

‌Saint Mary’s other Canada Research Chair’s include Dr. Jason Clyburne, CRC in Environmental Studies and Materials, Dr. Arla Day ,CRC in Industrial/Organizational Psychology, Dr. Gavin Fridell, CRC in International Development Studies, Dr. Catherine Loughlin, CRC in Management and Dr. Robert Thacker, CRC in Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Dr. Kevin KellowayCreated in 2000, the Canada Research Chairs Program invests $265 million per year across Canada to attract and retain the world’s most accomplished and promising professors. Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.